Cozy enough

Friday October 22, 2004

All four of us had a really dozy day today. The weather, wet and windy, encouraged an indoor kind of day, and we kept the door firmly closed against the gales. The radiators gurgled cheerfully, Harry and Dolly woke only to demand food at meal times and, apart from a quick dash around with the vacuum, Graham confined his attention to his book and to a modicum of computer play.

“You’re right about this vacuum cleaner,” he said. “It is too heavy.”

“Shall we go and get a new one?” I said, full of hope.”

“No, not today. Anyway, we’ll have to get rid of this carpet first.”

“Oh.”

“Don’t say it like that.”

“Sorry. Can’t help it. I hate that vacuum with a vengeance.”

“Well, you hate it and I’ll wield it until the proper time comes along.”

“I shall hold you to that.”

“Why don’t you make a nice cup of tea?”

“Ah. That’s something I can do.”

When I wasn’t moaning about the vacuum cleaner and the carpet I devoted my waking time to my new poetry project, gathering and ordering notes. I still don’t know if I shall be able to finish it but the work is making me feel good with myself once more.

The sun may shine tomorrow. Or it may not. Doesn’t matter—we’re cozy enough here.

 

Harry Cat, Oct,'04; PDA photo by Graham
 
Scowl for the camera, Harry

 

Leave a Reply

