Your guess is as good as mine

Sunday October 24, 2004

Graham came and sat down next to me as I was playing with my computer. This is unusual, but not unheard of. I hadn’t been working for very long, so I had no feeling of guilt or even foreboding. Perhaps I was wrong on the foreboding but I wasn’t wrong on the guilt.

“Wassamatta?” I asked.

“Nothing at all. Just I wanted to say something.”

“Oh dear.”

“Don’t be silly.”

“Why not? I’m good at silly. Silly is something I do very well.”

“That’s a question for another day.”

“Ok,” I said, giving in. “Spit it out, then.”

“I think we should do the house up over the winter and put it on the market early next year.”

“Why’s that, then?”

“I get the impression you don’t much like it here any more.”

“I don’t know about that.”

“Alright, then, we don’t much like it here any more.”

I sat for a few moments, thinking about it, working it out, testing it all for taste. “Ok.”

“What do you mean, ok?”

“I mean fine, let’s do it.”

“Right. Knew I could rely on you.”

“That’s nice to know.”

“You’re in danger of being silly again.”

“Sorry. I’ll be careful.”

“And don’t try the Star Wars method, either.”

“How about, um, Let’s have a nice cup of coffee?”

“That’s more like it.”

I have observed that all the best things come out of the blue, unannounced, and that’s the way I shall treat this one. I’m certainly not ready to analyze it. As to where we’ll be moving, your guess is as good as mine. Fun, ‘ennit?

 

Leave a Reply

