Nothing to be gained by complaint

Thursday November 11, 2004

It’s a funny thing, is growing older. Well, truth to tell, there are things about it that aren’t funny at all, but I’ll stick to my more positive take for now. No point in contemplating the negative, no point at all…

Like, the going to sleep ritual. That’s funny, to be sure. I lay my head on the pillow, relax, and compose myself for sleep. Slowly, my body slips into repose. Then, the little itches. First, the one above my right eyebrow. Wait for it… wait for it… yes, there it is. Right. Let’s give it a scratch. Good. Now, let’s try again. There will be another itch in a minute, the one on the outer rim of my left nostril. No point rushing it… Good. Give it a scratch and then we’re done. Unless the one in my right ear decides to have a go, that is.

Finally, the cough. That comes just as I drift away. Something to do with sinus, I suspect, and the fact that I’m laying down. Doesn’t take long to deal with, then I give a big sigh, breathe easy, and slide gently away.

It could be worse. It could be a lot worse, I know that. And, sometimes, it is. But, generally, I manage it all quite well. It’s all crept up slow as slow over the years, and I’m used to it. Just another sign of increasing age. There are others, of course, quite a few of them, but it’d be boring to list them all. Not to say a trifle indelicate.

So, let’s go back to funny. It’s a funny thing, is growing older, sitting inside a body that doesn’t work as well as it did, and is beginning to display indications of wear and tear. Like an old car, you tend to its idiosyncracies, change to a better grade of oil, and stop counting how long it takes to get from nought to sixty.

Graham and I were talking about such things recently.

“Perhaps you should have taken better care of your body when you were younger,” Graham ventured.

“Nah. I was too busy enjoying it to waste time taking care of it.”

“And did you?”

“Did I what?”

“Enjoy it.”

“Darn right I did. You know I did.”

“Well, there you are then. You were lucky. There’s no point complaining about it now.”

You know what? He’s right. I was lucky. I’ll go further than that—I’m still lucky. And there really is nothing to be gained by complaint at this stage of the game.

 

Leave a Reply

