And so…

Tuesday November 30, 2004

I have to count my initial eBay venture as a success on several scores. First, everything I put up has sold, and I’m awaiting payment for only one item. That, so far as I’m able to gather, is exceptionally good going. Second, I’ve been out just about every day since the sales started coming in, posting items off hither and yon. I’ve learned a lot, about presentation, timing and the best way for me to keep from being swamped with transactional correspondence. I had only one less than satisfactory experience—the trip to Withern—but that turned out well in the end. Not only that, but I got a fair-to-decent poem out of it. And, of course, the inflow of cash is exceeding welcome. So, all in all, I’m glad I went for it and shall now settle down to a steady routine, aiming to work for no more than one hour a day at it, Monday to Friday.

The only downside to my commercial adventure is the mischief being done to the American dollar. This makes US purchases of UK goods suddenly and noticeably more expensive from the US side. Currency fluctuation is one of the most insidious forms of taxation, and one of the least well understood.

Anyway. Today I declared to be a small, one-off holiday. The first sign that I needed a feet-up day was when I nodded off in front of the computer this morning. I did the proper thing, turned the machine off and took myself away for ‘another half-an-hour’, which turned out to be almost two hours.

“Does that feel better?” Graham asked, over the hiss of the wallpaper stripping machine.

“Yeah. Much, thanks. How about you?”

“Oh, I’m doing fine. I shall finish the stripping today.”

“You’re a hard working and industrious little person.”

“That’s true. I’d like a cup of tea, though.”

“Right you are.”

Apart from making tea and coffee, and lunch and dinner, I’ve not really been industrious today, not at all. I took a quick turn into Spilsby for provisions, encountered a grim-visaged female assistant of the snooty kind in the pharmacy and resisted the urge to quote the famous line from Absolutely Fabulous—”You can cut the attitude, missus. You’re only a shop assistant.” On the other hand, the woman on the checkout at Somerfields couldn’t have been nicer, and even spared a moment to exchange a few pleasantries. Contrasts. Even in a place so small as Spilsby.

And so, the day pottered along without event or excitement until, after dinner, we sat down to watch Teachers and laughed ourselves dizzy. One of the best TV programmes I’ve seen for a very long time, is Teachers.

And so, even though it means opening two consecutive paragraphs with the same two words… to bed.

 

Leave a Reply

