Going circular

Wednesday December 15, 2004

I suppose there must be a perfect supermarket somewhere, on the same kind of principle that has the works of Shakespeare produced by an infinity of typing monkeys. If I ever find one I shall be sure to let you know. In the meantime I have to work with what I’ve got.

So, in the spirit of the free market, and experimenting with the unknown, I ventured a few days back to carry out my first grocery provisioning in the new As-mart.

“I’m not going to do that again,” I said, stoutly, when I got home.

“Why’s that, then?”

“It’s crowded, it’s badly organised, it’s smelly, and it’s filled with scuzzy people.”

“Say what you mean, why don’t you?”

“I thought I just did,” I replied, missing the joke altogether.

“Ah. I get it. You’re not going to shop in As-mart after all.”

“Nope. I’m going back to good old Tesco.”

“Fine. They don’t have As-marts in Central London.”

“Just as well, then.”

“How did we get into this silly conversation?”

“I don’t know. Why don’t you make us a decent cup of coffee while I unpack this pile of scuzzies?”

“That I can do.”

And, ignoring the slightly surreal and wholly temporary reversal of roles, we set about our business. The coffee was good. The groceries, over the course of the past few days, turned out to be acceptable. My resolve, however, did not weaken.

“Right,” I said this morning, contemplating the near-empty fridge. “I’m going to Tesco’s for my shopping today.”

“You really meant it when you said you weren’t going to do As-mart again, then.”

“Yup. As-mart is horrid.”

“Say what you mean, why don’t you?”

“Don’t you go all circular on me.”

 

Boston, Dec,'04
 
Fogscape 3
pencam photo

 

Leave a Reply

