There’s safety in rainbows

Saturday December 18, 2004

I pulled the car over to the side of the road, stopped, and poked my pencam out of the window to snap the latest in a whole series of dramatic rainbows that’d been following us on our way home. The little camera went ‘beep’ to indicate that it’d taken a photograph, and then, ‘meeeeeeeep’.

“Oh, drat,” I said.

“Why? What does that mean?”

“The perishin’ thing’s run out of battery again.”

“You’ve got spares, haven’t you? Why don’t you put some in?”

“Nah. Lost the chance now. Look, the wind’s changing and the rainbow’s fading away again.”

“Oh. Fair enough. Not to worry, there’ll be more.”

I wound up my window just in time to escape the lashing from a new rain squall, signalled, and pulled out onto an empty road. I always signal, even if there’s no other vehicle or person in sight. It’s better to be safe than to be sorry, especially in this county of mad, reckless drivers.

When we got home I turned the computer on and plugged the pencam straight in. It hangs on to images for quite a while but I don’t know exactly how long. Again, better to be safe than sorry.

“Oh, drat,” I said.

“What now?”

“It’s done its trick of dropping quality on the last frame as it died. Looks all washed out, like colour film from 1945.”

“You’ll have to zhoosh it up, then.”

“Oh, yes. That I can do.”

“Good. What’s for lunch?”

And off I toddled to make a nice sandwich lunch. I always take the hint when it comes to lunch time. Like I say, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

 

Boston, Dec,'04
 
Rainbows over the fens
pencam photo

 

Leave a Reply

