The certainty of fun

Sunday December 26, 2004

In the UK, today was ‘Boxing Day’, a sort of civic add-on to Christmas. We tend to stay home Boxing Day and, since we also stayed home Christmas Eve this year, today was our third shut-in day. It’s been wonderful, warm, peaceful, and restful.

Now, however, at the end of it all, I’m beginning to feel a little stir-crazy, wanting to be out and about. My brain goes turgid in the region of the creative centres when I’m shut in for too long. I need to get out and feel the wind in what hair I still have:

 

Everything was wonderful! I strode along over the level sands infatuated with the sheer ability to put one leg in front of the other and walk. I loved to feel the muscles of my thighs working, and to swing my arms in rhythm with the stride. The stiff breeze had blown the sky clear, and was rushing through my long hair, and bellowing into each ear. I strode as Alexander must have done!
 
W.N.P. Barbellion:Journal of a Disappointed Man: June 27, 1913

 

Or, perhaps:

 

A walk […] was often my recreation. It was worth the while, if only to feel the wind blow on your cheek freely, and see the waves run, and remember the life of mariners.
 
H.D. Thoreau: Walden

 

When I was a younger poet I loved to stride out, pacing the rhythms, counting along the lines. Now, well, my striding days are wearing a bit thin, and I step through them rather more sedately. These days my feet tend more to the caution of the spondaic than the remorseless, heroic march of the iambic.

Hey ho. Perhaps tomorrow I shall stroll along to my new sitting place along the lane, across the road and over the green. That’d be good. If the sun shines I shall sit there, remembering the pacings of a younger poet.

 

Winchelsea, '79
 
A younger poet

 

And that’s quite enough of that, thank you very much.

Today I had several longish sessions with Mr Bingely-Boop, getting to grips with the peculiarities of handwriting recognition. Graham tells me I’ve been quiet as a church mouse for long periods at a time. He also seems to think I’m enjoying it.

He’s right. I wouldn’t describe myself as a convert yet, but I’m getting there. I can certainly take effective notes just as quickly now as when using my memory book. The problem I have left is what to do with the notes when I’ve taken them. In a memory book, on paper, I seem to have a mental map of how to find things. The PDA has an excellent search engine, as does the PC, but I have a filing clerk in my head that’s not satisfied with merely finding things. It wants to see some kind of organization to them, even a chaotic, stream of consciousness kind of organization.

It may be time I looked for a state of the art note storage and organization program for the PC. Makes me wish they’d kept developing Lotus Agenda.

Ah well. It’s fun, and that’s a certainty.

 

Leave a Reply

