Here’s something I threw earlier

Saturday January 1, 2005


Stickford, Jan 1,'05
You’re looking awfully glum


“You’re looking awfully glum,” said Graham.

“No, not really,” I said, gazing out of the window at nothing in particular.

“What’s the matter, then?”

“It’s these darned miniature teapots. I have a bad feeling about them.”

“Told you so. Ugly perishin’ things.”

“I know you did. And now Bonnie tells me the same. Doesn’t auger well, that doesn’t.”

“You can’t win ’em all.”

“No. S’pose not,” I said. “Not the greatest way for me to start in on my New Year’s resolution, though.”

“New Year’s resolution? What New Year’s resolution?”

“To unload all our surplus stuff that’s eBay-able before the end of February. Or March at the latest.”

“See what you mean. Mind you, those teapots aren’t what I’d call surplus.”

“Why, what would you call them?”

“Land fill, if I had my way.”

“You’re just teapotist, that’s what you are.”

“Perhaps so. Why don’t you buck your ideas up and get eBaying with something else instead of waiting for them not to sell?”

A long silence. I wondered whether to throw something at him, or to agree that he was right. I always do have trouble choosing between my instincts and what I know to be right.

“Oh, fair enough,” I said. “I’ll get cracking on some more stuff.”

Which is what I did. I put up the Sony Pro Walkman, a set of folding tools, and my redundant Sony Cube alarm clock/radio on eBay before it was time to enjoy Graham’s Saturday evening pasta special. I had an almost immediate bid on the Walkman.

“You’ve been busy,” Graham said when I sat down at the dining table. “Feeling better now?”

“Oh yes. Much, thanks.”

“There you are, then,” he said, smugly.

There I was indeed. I knew I should have thrown something earlier.

 

Leave a Reply

