Slip a sable under the tree for me…

Tuesday February 1, 2005

“Which one would you like?” asked the bloke in the art store, opening the security-locked case of sable brushes especially for me.

“This one,” I said, picking up the largest round sable brush in the box and running its lovely, sexy, begging-for-water lusciousness over my fingers. “This one’ll do.”

“Are you sure?”

“Oh. Yes. Give it to me. Give it to me. How much will it cost?”

“Um,” said the bloke, hesitantly, pretending to consult a price-chart. “I’m afraid that’ll set you back ninety-six quid.”

“Ah,” I said. “I think you’d better put it back.”

So I ended up buying a nice No. 12 Pro-Arté Prolene synthetic instead, at a mere £10.85. Rather more in line with my pocket money limits.

Oh, but that sable was a lovely brush!

I have to admit, though, that the Prolene brush works awfully well and, while it’s not a sable, it’ll do me until I feel confident enough to spend almost a whole week’s food budget on the real thing.

 


Stickford, 2005 sketchbook vol.1
Sketchbook daisies


 

Leave a Reply

