Cheeky monkey

Saturday February 5, 2005

“Well, that was comical,” I said.

“Serves you right.”

“If you say so.”

I’d been sitting on a bench at the entrance to the Memorial Garden in Boston, you see, snapping away happily with my pencam while waiting for Graham to finish up in the bookshop. It was cold-ish, and grey, and the light wasn’t good, but I tend to take pictures in these situations anyway, hoping for the best. The pencam isn’t the best choice for dull light, needing a contrasty, well-lit subject to help it along, but I generally reckon on getting at least one decent shot out of ten even in poor conditions. Not today, sadly, so when he came up close and took a PDA photo of me taking a pencam photo of him I thought it’d at least produce a humorous shot.

Then, strolling through the gardens, we wandered along to the Artstore to see if they could help me with mounting supplies better than the so-called framing supplies shop over the other side of town. We were absolutely delighted with the help and guidance they gave us, and came away with enough board to get going, along with a wonderful gadget that cuts mitres accurately and easily.

“Have you done this before?” asked the woman who’d taken charge of us.

“Nope. But you have to start somewhere.”

“True. Tell you what, I’ll give you a scuffed board to practice on. Save spoiling a couple of good ones while you get used to cutting.”

“Oh, wow! Thanks so much, I really appreciate that.”

“Think nothing of it. We like to help our regular customers.”

Actually, being fair, they like to help their new customers, too, as I’d found out the first time I’d called in.

Isn’t it nice to be remembered, though?

So there was a bounce in my step as we walked back to the car, and I felt good going round the supermarket, too.

“We’ll have a small turkey roast tomorrow,” I said.

“Great. Can we have Yorkshire Pudding to go with it?”

“That’s a good idea. It’ll give me a chance to put the new oven through its paces.”

“Ah. Perhaps we should pick up some Aunt Bessie’s[1] while we’re here. Just in case.”

“Cheeky monkey.”

 


Boston, Feb 5,'05
Snap!
pencam photo


 

[1] Aunt Bessie is a brand name for a range of frozen traditional British dishes. In particular, their Yorkshire Puddings are excellent, and always worth having in the freezer. You can knock up a delicious and satisfying meal in less than 10 minutes from a pack of Yorkshire Puddings, a jug of gravy, a handful of mixed frozen vegetables and, if you wish, whatever left-over cooked meat or poultry you may have to hand.

Leave a Reply

