Having a re-think

Friday April 29, 2005

The third agent failed to phone back. Again. So we retired him and picked another out of the book. This one sounds very much more dynamic and has promised to visit tomorrow.

On the strength of that I phoned the selling agent for the house in Northumberland only to find that the vendor has accepted an offer and so is formally off the market. I asked the agent to keep us on record and to let us know should the deal fall through, and put the receiver down. Thoughtfuly.

“Was that what I think it was?” asked Graham.

“Yup. They’re under offer. I’m not sure how I feel about that.”

“Relieved? I feel relieved.”

“Yes. That’s it. Disappointed, of course, but relieved that the pressure is off.”

“Precisely. When you’ve finished your coffee why don’t you hit the Internet and look for alternatives?”

So I spent the next hour or so poring over house details, rejecting almost all of them and building a short-list of the ones that looked even slightly interesting. Trouble was, none of them were really interesting. I sighed, heavily, disconnected, and pushed my chair back from the desk.

“Sounds as though you’ve not had much luck.”

“No, not much. There are some perfectly nice houses there but nothing worth moving up to Northumberland for.”

“Ah. Well, I’ll have a look this evening but I don’t suppose I’ll do any better.”

“I dunno about that. You have a better record than me on these things.”

“If you say so. But, all in all, it looks as though we’re stuck for the moment. Time for a re-think?”

I thought for what seemed a long time, then: “Yeah. Time for a re-think.”

The little house by the fens fell silent. Dolly the Mega-Cat came stomping in to see what was up, what had happened to stop the endless monkey chatter.

“It’s alright, Dolly,” I said. “We’re just having a re-think.”

 

Leave a Reply

