Laughter is good, too

Wednesday May 4, 2005

Today’s estate agent, while pleasant, was less than dynamic, putting the value of our home a cool thirty thousand pounds lower than the guy who came to see us last Saturday. So, smiling nicely, I ushered her out and promised to get in touch one way or the other by Friday.

“Wow,” I said as we waved her off.

“Double wow.”

“I’m afraid it’s unlikely we’ll be doing business with her.”

“Just as well. I’d hate to have to kill you at this stage of the game,” Graham said.

And then we laughed. A lot.

“What would we do if that’s all we could get?” I asked.

“Stick with Plan ‘B’. We could still get a decent house in Lincoln, just have to pitch in lower, that’s all. And we could still afford the house in Northumberland if it came back on the market.”

“Fine by me,” I said. “Let’s go shopping.”

And off we sailed to Boston, leaving our immaculately doctored house to Dolly’s more than adequate guardianship.

“Sometimes,” I said, “Shopping is good.”

“Don’t get carried away. We might need all the cash we can gather.”

“I hear and obey.”

“Just as well, or…”

We both laughed. Again. Laughter is good, too.

 


Stickford, Apr 27,'05
Study, as shown a few days ago


 


Stickford, May 4,'05
Study, showing what’s behind my chair


 


Stickford, May 4,'05
Study: Books and storage


 


Stickford, May 4,'05
Study: Chief assistant, books and storage


 

Leave a Reply

