A bit low on inclination

Monday September 26, 2005

Not a good day. Like the jolly green giant chomping along an ear of sweet corn, the arthritis gobbled its way across my left hand, into the right, up to the shoulder and down the spine.

It’s no great problem usually. I pop a couple of diclofenac pills, take myself off to bed, and sleep the day away. Instead, today, I had to content myself with half a pill and a lot of determination while I drove to Boston to post some papers off to Graham. I don’t like to drive when I’m on pain-killers. Even a minimum dose turns the world slightly on its side, and me with it.

As luck would have it, all the disabled drivers’ bays up by the post office were taken up, mostly by SUVs without badges. One day, murder will be committed against these thoughtless, selfish people. Not me, and not today. I parked in the lower car park and made my way slowly and haltingly up to the post office, carried out my business, and then back to the car, and back home.

Then I popped the full dose, and parked my weary bones on the bed for the rest of the day.

Now, late in the evening, most of the pain has subsided. I don’t have much of a day to write about, however, and even less inclination. I’m a bit low on inclination right now.

 


 
Empty tables
 

 

Leave a Reply

