Consolation

Tuesday October 4, 2005

I do believe I’m going to have to get myself one of those horrid circular pneumatic cushions with a hole in the middle, designed to take pressure off of the coccyx. You know, the ones that used to be made of a ghastly red rubber and smelled like a hotwater bottle that’d been left filled with stale, cold water for far too long. I doubt they’re the same now, though such items of comfort to the elderly and infirm are not generally regarded as having an importance in the general scheme of things, and are not much developed and improved over the years.

It’s not a pleasant prospect but the base of my spine is now so fiercely compressed that I find it difficult, and painful, to sit for very long.

Ah well. I shall laugh it off, give the darned thing an amusing and probably rather crude name, and get used to it. Secretly, though, I shall hate it with a vengeance.

Another step along the road to general decrepitude, I suppose. My consolation is that it’s infinitely better than the prospect of more surgery.

 

Leave a Reply

