Tough, but supportable

Monday April 24, 2006

2 days to M-day

“I’m going to do the best I can today,” Graham asked. “Mustn’t expect miracles, though. I’m feeling tired.”

“Do it in bursts, then. And take a break between each of them.”

“I know. You can’t eat a whole elephant in one big meal but you can polish it off in small bites. Wish I didn’t feel tired, though.”

“Just take it easy.”

He had every reason to feel tired of course, unlike me. He’s had a hectic fortnight at St Audries, immediately followed by a six hour train journey. He’s a strong, healthy bloke but that’s enough to render anyone a little tired. He worked wonders even so.

After lunch, and after dinner, he wilted visibly and I sent him off to bed. Does me a power of good to have someone around who’s more tired than me. Means I can do the bossing for once. The situation will reverse tomorrow, however, so I made the most of it while it lasted.

Despite the project in hand, though, I got one sorting out as he came up to me brandishing a pair of hairdressing scissors and a big comb. “You’ve had some dreadful haircuts,” he said. “But this one is the pits. I’m not taking you back to Somerset looking like something the cat dragged in.”

Hey ho. Can’t say I didn’t expect that one. Mind you, judging by the photo Graham sneaked of me when we were taking a break on the van-driving trip to the caravan, I was fully justified in taking the clippers to my hair. The time may come when I simply stop having the stuff cut and adopt the image of a wild man from the west but I’m not at the long grey ponytail stage of life quite yet.

Dolly, it goes without saying, complained greatly at the sudden invasion of the human hurricane wielding sticky tape and cardboard boxes who’d brought about such a major intrusion into her life.

“Oh, come on, Dolly,” I said. “Last week you were moaning because it was too quiet.”

“Hmmmph,” she said in return, which was about as much I expected or deserved.

The major tasks of my day were to visit Spilsby, probably for the last time, to call in at the doctor’s for a supply of medication to see me over the change, to the council offices for the free low energy light bulbs we were awarded for filling in a questionnaire, and to the Co-op for lunch supplies. I shall miss the Co-op even though there’s an equally excellent one in Williton, and I shall certainly miss Spilsby. Nice town, Spilsby. Later in the day I made a trip over to the Boston Tesco’s, again for the last time, for provisions to see us over the move and off to Somerset.

I drew cash from the well-lighted machine outside Tesco’s front door to see us through the move. Like most older folks I don’t usually carry much cash and it makes me a little nervous when I have to. Untypically, driving back through Boston, I snibbed the locks on the car doors. Must be getting old.

And that was it for the day, really. Hard, steady slog and rewarding naps. Tough, but supportable.

 


 
A Wild Man heading for the West


Reader’s note:  I’m aiming to make a journal entry each day but it’s likely that my timings will be out over the next two or three days. I’ll zap out a notify of course. Thanks for being there!

 

Leave a Reply

