The unpacked cat

Tuesday April 25, 2006

1 day to M-day

I think I did particularly well today, not getting in the way until after lunch time. I dived into and out of the hurricane as required for passing out tea and coffee and picking up instructions. I did my part, too, handling jobs that were within my capacity and out of the path of the packaging hurricane maker.

By lunchtime, though, I’d done all that. I put a sustaining and tasty lunch together, which we both enjoyed, and then Graham announced siesta time.

“Shall I set a timer?” I asked.

“Nope. I shall not sleep for too long anyway and the more you can stock up on sleep before driving down to Somerset this one last time the better. Besides, it’ll keep you out of the way.”

“Ah. I can take a hint.”

So all three of us snuggled up for a well-earned siesta and when later, much later, Dolly and I woke, the hurricane was back in action, and had been for some time.

“Can I get you anything?” I asked as I reached for my wake-up coffee.

“Tea, please,” he said, mumbling around a piece of packing tape he was snipping the teeth way.

Then it was a matter of helping when asked, and keeping out of the way until, eventually, he announced it was done.

“Have a look around and see if there’s anything I’ve missed,” he said. “I know it’s late but I want a shower now, then a glass of wine and then we can have dinner.”

I found only one item that needed attention. Mr Rusty has been sitting in the garage drying out for three or four weeks and we’d very nearly forgotten him. A few minutes later he was swathed in several yards of bubble wrap, safely taped and ready to go. Graham went off for his shower and I stayed on for a few minutes, looking at stuff, hands in pockets.

“We shall have a good chat when we’re altogether again, Mr Rusty,” I said. “I reckon you’ll have a good rest while you’re in storage. Think good thoughts for me.”

And at the end of a long day of packing, getting everything ready for the removal men in the morning, there’s not a lot more to say. I gave Dolly a Mega-Cuddle to make up for the disturbance. Graham gave Dolly a Mega-Cuddle to make up for the disturbance. And then we were all three of us ready for bed. I plan to dream of Somerset.

“See, Dolly,” I said. “We didn’t pack you up after all.”

So, that’s it. Everything that can be packed is packed, and we’re ready for moving day. We’re tired, true, but triumphant. Ready for bed. And we didn’t pack the cat.

 


 
Dreaming of Somerset

 

Leave a Reply

