The whole autumn and winter ahead of us

Thursday September 7, 2006

It’s not finished, you understand, but it is cleared and ready for action. My study, that is. Needs a new office chair, pictures, and my books and stuff, but it’s fit for purpose right now. Graham made it his first project of the day, starting with hanging the new venetian blinds we picked up in Taunton a week or so back.

“What do you think?” he asked, calling me in to see the result.

“It’s brilliant. I shall be happy as a sandboy working in here every day. Thanks. Really thanks.”

“Don’t be silly. What are you thanking me for?”

“Because I appreciate what you’ve done for me here. I’m just making sure you know quite how much I appreciate it.”

“Oh, for goodness’ sake. Go and make a pot of tea, why don’t you.”

 


 

 

 
New study; ground floor front

 

I think it’s one of the most vital things in life, saying thank you. Never, ever, miss a chance to tell those about you just how much you appreciate their care. Or simply for being there.

We were fortunate yesterday that the sun shone and the weather was dry even though it was rather humid at times. Today the picture was repeated. In the run up to the move I was concerned only with rain, wanting it to be dry so we didn’t end up with a house full of damp furniture and cardboard boxes. Again, it turned out to be something for which to be thankful.

Arriving in a new house at the start of St Luke’s Little Summer [sometimes called an ‘Indian’ Summer] is pretty good timing, even though the most humid parts of the day have left me wilting a little. Even Graham had to pause now and again for a while in the midst of his labours and he’s not one to stop when he has the bit between his teeth. The temperature ran a little over 20°C, and BBC weather page for Bridgwater shows the warm spell continuing for a few days.

A time for sauntering, then. The rush is over. I’ll not claim to have earned a break but if, in the next few days, I feel the need to jest sit, I’m jolly well going to do it.

Just about all of the boxes have been identified now, and the vital ones opened to pull out the things we need immediately. Like curtains. And the TV/audio boxes, together with remote controls. Our satellite receiver is working fine on all the Freeview channels, which is just as well because we can’t remember how to tune the TV itself into the local channels, and the instruction book has yet to emerge. I’m not at all convinced that we need subscription TV here, though that may change as the winter draws in and the evenings get longer.

Tomorrow Graham has to go back to his job, and will be away until next Tuesday night, reverting to the one day a week routine for the next four weeks. I’ll visit him on Sunday for lunch, and we take comfort from knowing that I can drive over to West Quantoxhead at the drop of a hat and be there in around thirty minutes. Even so…

“I wish you didn’t have to go back,” I said. “Doesn’t seem fair.”

“Yeah. I know. I’d rather stay on here and get on with the job.”

“Oh well. It won’t be long now, and we have the whole autumn and winter ahead of us.”

 

Leave a Reply

