Collywobbles

Friday November 17, 2006

Not feeling so good today. Touch of the bronicals. Keep pausing to cough and losing my thread. I’ll do the best I can to return to normal tomorrow; if not I’ll keep you posted.

 

Smiling in the sun
 
When I sit in the sunshine
face to the sky
eyes closed
it feels as though
my eyelids have grown
thin as I have aged.
 
The light I receive
is more gold than roseate
bringing me
closer to eye-weeping
discomfort than to
sun-worshipping bliss.
 
I peer closely in the mirror.
All seems to be well.
A little rheumy round the edges
perhaps but not so bad after
sixty seven years of observation
and the orbs still seem to smile.
 
 
John Bailey
Somerset, November 2006

 

Leave a Reply

