Horlicks would be nice

Sunday December 3, 2006

I really didn’t want to go out today. There was a hard-hearted rain, almost snow, miserable and ill-tempered, ready to seek out every weak spot in a chap’s defences. Had to be done, though, so I pulled my hat down over my ears and got ready for a quick dash.

“Are you sure you don’t want me to come with you?” Graham asked.

“Absolutely. No point both of us getting wet. Besides, I’m well wrapped up and shall come to no harm.”

“Well, so long as you’re sure.”

“I’m sure,” I said. “I’m sure. Byeee!”

“Bye. I’ll have the coffee on when you get back.”

Actually, I was cheating. I could quite easily have fed and watered us from the store cupboard. The truth of it was I’d had a brainwave for a last minute birthday present of the small and silly kind and was making an excuse of needing bread and milk so I could drive over to the DIY store to fetch it.

When I got back home I shook the rain from my waterproof and changed into nice warm indoor clothes, having sneaked the new present into the house inside my coat.

“There,” I said. “Mission accomplished. It’s not nice out there.”

“Looks horrid. Coffee?”

And so we settled down to a nice day at home. Outside the pavements ran with driving rain and the gutters gurgled cheerily as they did their job. What brave souls there were who ventured out rushed to and from their cars as quick as they could manage. The close was, well, closed today, following an age-old tradition of wet British Sunday afternoons.

We finished off the evening by sitting down to watch the new episode of Torchwood—the only thing on TV we both enjoy at present. I must be careful not to issue anything in the way of a spoiler for this SciFi thriller so I’ll content myself with saying it’s brilliant, a worthy associate of the new Doctor Who series from which it is descended.

“There you go,” I said as I snapped the receiver off when the final credits had rolled. “Time for a night cap? I bought Horlicks when I was out.”

“Please. It’s that time of year again, I suppose. Bit early to be shutting down, though.”

“Not really. You have to go to work early tomorrow.”

“Oh. I’d forgotten. Yes, Horlicks would be nice, thanks.”

 

Leave a Reply

