No staging here

Sunday February 24, 2008

All the crappy has now been removed from the house, and the big clean is under way.  Graham’s doing by far the bulk of the work, with me on kitchen duty and handling the business side.

Even so, it’s feeling tedious already.  We have moved house far too frequently over the past five years or so, even for us.

Yesterday we called in at Asda/Wal-mart on our way to Sainsbury’s, seeking out some cheap ceramic soap dispensers Graham had seen on our last visit.  They’re fine.  Then, in Sainsbury’s, he picked up display bottles of balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and puy lentils for kitchen staging.

I think a spark of non-conformist rebellion hit the both us simultaneously as we regarded them sitting in the trolley.

“This is silly,” he said, putting them back on the shelf.  “We have perfectly good lentils, olive oil and balsamic vinegar in the cupboard at home.  Anyone needing to see it can jolly well open the door and have a good nose.”

“Great,” I said. “Those times are past, I’m sure of it.  And I don’t think I’ll be baking bread rolls to impress, either. It’s all so yesterday.”

And that’s how it’s going to be.  The house is nicely decorated, clean, good-smelling, and tidy, and it’ll stay that way.  Anyone who wants staging can go down the road to the theatre.

11 responses to “No staging here

  1. My place will have to be sold shortly. I could use a stylist/gardener/painter/… I’ll willingly supply copious quantities of tea.

    I have a question. Are you still using the Yahoo notify group? I’ve had to check as I’ve had no emails from that group for possibly a week.

    Best wishes to you both for a quick, hassle-free sale.

    Hope your sale goes smoothly, Jan. The Yahoo notify group is functioning, and shows yesterday’s notify sent as normal. You are on the list, at your gmail addy, and I can’t see why you should not be getting the mails. Is there a possibility that your junk filter has taken sudden exception to Yahoo group mail?

  2. Sounds like a plan to me – and a good one too! Over here it’s the same thing, John. Staging. And people actually pay to have someone come in and do it for them! When we’re ready in a few years, the house will be clean and tidy, but not staged.

  3. Thanks for checking John. Today’s entry has been notified after I made my comment but others haven’t turned up anywhere. I know Yahoo does silly things on occasions, I am hassling them currently about receiving mail from a group I have not belonged to for some months. Mail has just started to arrive from it, although I’m definitely not a member. If this can happen, I suppose someone else can get my mail from them too. Not a good thought in either direction.

  4. When we put our house up to sell 2 years ago, I learned about CLEANING in a way I had never done before (and we have 3 dogs and 2 cats, so cleaning began anew every morning!). But it was worth it as a lesson, but what really helped, I think, was the ‘apple pie’ candle I burned before every showing. HA! The place smelled like an apple pie and customers loved it!

  5. I’m sure you’ll also contemplate whether to put some cinnamon on the stove burner. My parents were told to do that when they were showing my childhood home to prospective buyers. They weren’t impressed when I subsequently made butter-flavour microwave popcorn.

  6. Baking is a good smell, but frankly if I smell potpouree, or perfumes of any sort I leave immediately. I am very allergic to perfume.

    It is at the point where any sweet odor will send me fleeing.

    Sorry, but there it is.

  7. lol I can just see the two of you as you set your foot down on the staging. 🙂

  8. Yes, I still miss that one cottage. I do.

    Yes, here we are so idiocyncratic that staging might help a bit when we sell. Yes, too, I am put off by those sweet smells and baking bread is a great homey odor. You two are just burned out. Buy something at the grocery and pop it in the microwave for the same effect.

  9. The lentils only count for home sales staging purposes if they are artisan hand-picked organic lentels from worker-owned farms in quaint third world countries.

    You got it exact, Jim! Puy lentils, hand-picked in Provence… 🙂

  10. Good call on the staging, there. These days people are more awake to that sort of stuff and don’t fall for it so much anymore. I know if I walk into a house and smell baking — or anything other than good fresh air — I am instantly aware that I am being manipulated and mark the house down accordingly. Same with those TV shows that stage places with the dinner table all set and nothing on the kitchen benchtops but a vase of flowers. It’s just not realistic. There may still be some people who fall for the veneer but I think these days people are aware of it.

    (… Says the person who bought her latest house off the internet with nothing but external pictures and a phoned-in description of the inside to go on, and loves it. Your mileage may vary of course.)

    On the other hand you two have a knack for making the rest of the house look cosy and delightful so I think you’ll do brilliantly without any of the obvious staging tricks!

  11. I’d never buy a house without checking out their lentils. 😉

Leave a Reply

