Lonesome paths

Wednesday March 5, 2008

As the world wakes, grass turns green and trees think about making leaves, my brain seems to be stirring, too.  Poetry particles whizz around me like a cloud of sleepy bees.  And the dreams!

You’d not believe the dreams.  All gooey and complicated, violent and scary, formless, shapeless, incapable of resolution, rather like the noises an old valve radio sometimes made as it warmed up.

It’s a lonesome path sometimes, being a poet.  In the winter I look out at grey, cold skies and wonder if I’ll ever find the words again.  Come Spring, they generally pop up alongside the sunshine.  Sometimes they don’t, and that’s when the path gets to be truly lonely.

Yesterday I was fooling with old Delta blues records, following my mood.  Mississippi John Hurt knew about that lonesome path:

The tantalizing glimpse of Rev. Gary Davis at the end of this clip set me off on another search… hey ho… that’s YouTube for you!

10 responses to “Lonesome paths

  1. I’m not familiar with Rev. Davis. Enjoyed the clip and now I suppose I’ll be humming that song awhile. 🙂

  2. Shirley, in PA

    I listen to Mississippi delta blues a lot, Sunny Boy Williamson and John Lee Hooker being favorites. I find it cheers me up.

  3. The delta blues are a direct route to my heart, John. Mississippi John Hurt even more so. Excellent.

  4. What a great video. It brings back memories of when I saw B.B. King perform outside at an old country store in Helotes, Texas. It was magical.

  5. Ah, yes… and how about Lightnin’ Hopkins?

  6. Great video. I had to go to YouTube to see what else was there of this genre and after listening to Joan Baez a bit, I ended up hearing a cat play the piano!

    Ava

  7. now that I think about it, seems like spring is the perfect time to list a house for sale…people and nests and such

  8. John, thank you. You’ve inspired me: I’ve been having one of those dragging days, but after a good dose of Charlie Musselwhite, Leadbelly and Howling Wolf, with a bit of Ella Fitzgerald thrown in for good measure, I’m much improved. 🙂

  9. Wow, talk about a trip down memory lane – thanks for that, and the link.

  10. Pingback: Gordo’s Brain! » Feeling the Delta Blues

Leave a Reply

