Slow, slow, slow, slow, slow

Thursday March 6, 2008

Yesterday Dolly and I slept, ate, slept, and slept again.  We’re proposing to do the same today.  Graham comes home tomorrow and I suspect the flop will hit the fan when he discovers that the agents seem to have gone to sleep.

It appears that the new bit of required government bureaucracy–the Home Information Pack, which we have not yet got–is holding things up.  Can’t say I’m surprised.  New bureaucracy tends to be much like old bureaucracy, only slower.

14 responses to “Slow, slow, slow, slow, slow

  1. I am sorry to hear of this new irritant John. Keeping things crossed that it passes quickly.

  2. Given the fact that you are responsible people with a lovely home I find it ridiculous that you need some information pack!! pah

  3. It’s all that ‘red tape’ – John. Everything sticks to it and slows things down. 😉

  4. What is this pack, John? More to do with money laundering? You had to know they’d catch up with you sooner or later? 😉

  5. Ha, Gordo…., my thoughts too! 🙂

  6. Do you mean that you don’t you feel all warm and cuddly and protected that the bureaucracy is taking such good care of you? You have to learn to love Big Brother.

  7. I think I shall use your analogy about burro-acrocacy when calling groomers and they complain about new permit requirement. 🙂

  8. I think I shall use your analogy about burro-acrocacy when calling groomers and they complain about new permit requirement. 🙂

  9. “Yesterday Dolly and I slept, ate, slept, and slept again…”

    You have just described my “dream day.”

    I hope the real estate agents pick up the pace and quickly!

  10. Amen….

  11. Ugh, I just googled this thing and I’m glad we don’t go in for that nonsense, here. Just a declaration form: yes we own it, no we’re not hiding anything, number of bodies buried in the garden, etc.

  12. Wait, wait! We might have a really wild story here. Bodies in the garden! Aha! Lighting his meerschaum, he reaches for the magnifying glass to examine more carefully that blade of grass that Dolly just rejected. Et voila! Etc. Holmes and M. Poirot ahake hands in satisfaction and give Dolly an extra treat.

  13. I was wondering when the HIP was going to raise its ugly head. I am SO glad that Mary and I intend to spend the rest our days where we are now, and never have to face the stresses of a house sale and purchase.

  14. Andrew Duffin

    You probably know this John, but for the benefit of our transatlantic cousins who don’t realise quite how bad things have got here, so I’ll mention it:

    If you take your house off the market and then try again in four months’ time – you will have to get a new HIP and pay the fee again.

    You see, it’s nothing to do with energy saving, or whatever fig leaf is claimed. It’s (a) another way of taking money off you and (b) a way of building up a snoop database of every property in the kingdom, so that they can take even more money off you at some time in the future.

    Gah.

    Also Feh.

Leave a Reply

