History repeating

Wednesday March 19, 2008

Just one day to go to the Spring Equinox.  It seems to have leapt out at me this year but then I have had my eyes and mind closer to the ground than to the sky.  Nevertheless I shall take it as time that I begin my annual reduction and cessation of the fluoxetine I use over the winter for the relief of the symptoms of SAD.

More important, I shall take it as signal that winter is over at last.  They might be forecasting snow and sleet this coming weekend but there’s nothing they can do about the length of the days.

The sun shone most of the day yesterday and seems set to keep going right through today. I’d like that.

Overnight came the news that Arthur C. Clarke has died at the age of 90.  I’m saddened by that. Science fiction was important to me as a youngster and Clarke was a writer whose novels and stories stimulated and entertained me more than most.  He had just finished a new book, co-authored by Poul Anderson, and I shall buy a copy of that when it’s published.  I’ll try to read it even though on current performance it’s unlikely I’ll get through more than a few pages.  No matter.  It can sit on my shelf next to Childhood’s End, as a memorial.

Graham phoned the agent yesterday to learn that the advertisements had only just appeared in the press, explaining what seemed to us to be a total lack of interest. It seems they have had seven enquiries in the past week arising from the website and the window advertisement.  “Might not seem a lot,” said the agent, “but it’s three times the average.  Don’t lose hope yet.”

Well, we haven’t lost hope, not that the assurances of estate agents generally figure in our patterns of hope.  We are being realistic, though.  The world economic down turn, resulting from the credit problems in the US, has slashed UK mortgage availability and halted the first-time buyer house market almost completely.  That slows the whole thing down by removing the feed from the bottom of the pyramid.

There will always be people who have to move house, for family or job reasons.  We’ve as good a chance of catching one of those as anyone. Better than most.

I’d find it easier to live with if I’d not experienced it all before.  Talk about history repeating.


Graham greets the Spring

18 responses to “History repeating

  1. Oh yes, spring is coming indeed. Some of the plants on my balcony are valiantly pushing out of the earth – the forget-me-nots are even trying to get out some tiny blooms in time for easter!

    Hope your garden makes the same effort.

    Hugs from Hamburg, Satalya

    PS. Firsties! 🙂

  2. 7 inquires and no one wanted to come for a look see?

  3. Well done, Satalya! Enjoy your Easter blooms! Ours are doing pretty well, too.

    It’s complicated going to view a house these days, Bonnie. The agent has to ensure that the putative buyer is in a position to proceed. Also, most buyers make a lot more enquiries than they do viewings; easier on the feet!

  4. Childhoods End is one of my favorite books. I was saddened to see his death notice too. I feel my age today, and it’s raining outside.

  5. The members of the household are reunited and tomorrow is the first day of spring, so the important bases are covered. The rest of it will be along in due course.

  6. We still only have rain and mud; mud and rain. *sigh*

    You must be feeling somewhat exasperated at your estate agent. I know I would be!

    So sad about Arthur C. Clarke. He will be missed.

  7. Clarke, Heinlein, Asimov, and Blish were my favorite writers. Clarke was born in Minehead and finished “grammar” school in Taunton. Now all of them are gone and science fiction writing sucks.

    Hurrah for spring. I hope your house sells soon and the housing market woes go away. Maybe then our daughter will find another job.

  8. I heard the news about Clarke on CBC on the way in to work this morning. He will be missed.

    Ahhhh, the equinox … I don’t think I’ve ever looked so forward to Spring so much in my life ….

  9. Here the grey is creeping in off the ocean every morning, and G is still sitting next to his SAD light for an hour a day. If he worked outdoors or near a window, he would be fine. He doesn’t. At least the light continues to work, and he comes home singing.

    Here, in a week and something, the American rites of Spring begin with baseball. Since I work at a baseball field, it’s time for me to throw off the habits of the winter and drag out my good relentless good cheer. That’s what I get paid for.

    Today we are off to the bank to see if these new lower interest rates will let us re-finance.

    Yes, heard about AC Clark yesterday. What a major part of all our adulthoods he was.

  10. Well, my spidey sense feels nicely reassured for hearing about those seven enquiries. Everything is crossed, all good thoughts are being directed, I will even ask my mother to entreat her favourite saint.

  11. Heheheh, Graham is right at it, whittling those little blades of grass to a neat, uniform height. Everything must be shipshape!

    Spring is surely welcome. I’m looking forward to longer days. The sun peeked in my window at 6:30 a.m. today. Twilight was still glimmering after 7 p.m. I love being on the west edge of a time zone.

    Yes, the grand old man of science fiction is gone. Dear memories of reading his books crowd around me.

    Here’s wishing you a speedy sale and moving on to more agreeable lodgings.

    Hugs from Asia,
    ~ Sil

  12. look at all that green grass! all is mud here…..and my apologies about the US and the downturn, but I didn’t vote for this lot

  13. I hope A.C. Clark is now experiencing an adventure of his own about now.

  14. It’s not fair – I tell ya! All that lovely green grass in your garden. Oh, but I’m so jealous right now – I’m about the same color! 😉

  15. I am another Arthur C. Clarke fan. I used to love listening to him when he was interviewed. To my ear, he had a very strange and wonderful accent. So much of what Clarke envisioned has become our reality. Thank you for mentioning the new book. I shall have to look for that.

  16. There will always be people who have to move house, for family or job reasons.

    I’m in the former category. Will be looking to move in the next 6 months. If you’re house were closer to East London I’d buy it in a heartbeat.

  17. Graham looks like he’s Hoovering!

  18. We are weeding the science fiction at my library, and I have some of the final decision. Clarke, Heinlein, Asimov, Kornbluth and many of the iconic writers of the last century had gone years without a checkout. I held my breath and let them go. Some lucky buyers will find treasures at our next book sale. I was fortunate to save Durand’s history books, and want to fight for Agatha Christie (already let loose of Earl Stanley Gardiner), Mrs. Pollifax, and Zane Grey.

Leave a Reply

