Where would we be without our evil sides?

Friday March 21, 2008

To Taunton yesterday, later than planned.  We’d sort of thought to be there for breakfast, instead, we arrived at lunch time.  Even so, the place was not crowded, there were plenty of good things on the shelves at Marks & Spencer, and we managed to pick up a really nice roasting chicken, all free-range and organic fed, along with other good stuff to see us right for main meals through the holiday weekend.  All I need do today is make a fast pass round Sainsbury’s and we’ll be set for a nice Easter at home, leaving the car to mumble away happily outside.

We lunched at Subway’s which was alive with kids from the college, and took our coffee at Starbucks afterwards.

“That’s a major shift in situation,” I said.  “M&S, Subway’s, and Starbucks. Requires a flexible approach from one’s mind-set, does that.”

“Irritating old possum,” Graham said.  “You seem to be better at that than I am, and that should just not happen.”

“Sorry.  I shall try to do worse.”

Coffee shop study

I’ll cook the chicken good and slow on Sunday morning, having given him a good thick coat of fatty bacon rashers and placed a level tsp of mixed herbs in the cavity.  I think it’ll be a good idea to do as I did at Christmas, and cover him loosely with oven foil for all but the last half-hour in the oven, to keep the flesh as moist as possible.

Other than that our weekend provender will consist of poached Dover sole, tonight, sausage casserole, tomorrow, and pot luck on Monday.  I doubt the chicken is sufficient for two meals so I’ll be crafty and buy a bag of forest mushrooms and a couple of red onions to pad out the remains.

Dinner is very seldom an ideas and planning problem for us–we’re perfectly happy with a large plate of fresh vegetables lightly cooked and served with whatever sauce I can be bothered to produce.  Lunches, however, are a constant bother to me.  Graham’s been on an extreme low fat jag since he finished work and that rules out most of my routine lunches.  Somewhere I have a book of low-fat recipes for one or two people.  I’ll look that out over the weekend and if all else fails, go Googling for ideas.

Has to be said, Somerset in general and Bridgwater in particular is not truly the place for low-fat ideas.

The upside of Graham’s switch is that he’s gorn orf traditional desserts, preferring to rummage in the fruit bowl.  That’s as easy to do as anything is.

And it’s all rather good for me, of course.  It’d be even better for me if my evil side didn’t nag me once or twice a week for a really big all-day breakfast at some convenient eatery.

But than, where would we be without our evil sides?

12 responses to “Where would we be without our evil sides?

  1. It’s a good thing I’ve just eaten breakfast else this entry would have storming the kitchen for food!

    Sorry, Jim! Someone here said something about food being what oldies like me turn to instead of sex?

  2. Our evil sides would get on great, should they ever meet there may be little else but all day breakfast eaten.

    Firsties?

    No problem with that, Lou! Sorry ’bout the firsties — next time!

  3. And what, may I inquire, is in your sausage casserole? Here we have cut down on the fat by using the old recipes with low or no fat products. I admit they are not as tasty. I have not given in and begun using nonfat mayo tho.

    Good quality sausages grilled slow and easy to coax the fat out before cutting and bunging in the casserole; cut a floury potato in half and float it on top of the casserole mix to absorb excess fat, pulling it out and setting it aside before stirring/serving. The garden birds will love it! I don’t much like low/no fat products, esp. mayo. Whoever had the idea of taking the fat out of mayo ought to be eviscerated. 🙂

  4. I’ve no idea what to make for Easter lunch. Unfortunately right now my evil side is craving sweets.

    Chicken, Bonnie. You can never go wrong with chicken!

  5. Oh, I miss Marks & Spencer. We haven’t had them here for almost 20 years.

    Tell you what, John. I’ll send you two some honey once the girls are producing. That will take care of desserts and no fat, too.

    Oh, Marks is great for festival food. Not for living in, though. We both of us love honey!

  6. Happy Easter to all! And enjoy your food!! 🙂

    Thanks, Brigitte! You too!

  7. Ooh! how I love sausage casserole.My other half hates it and calls it boiled sausages.So if you have any spare, ship over here ,will you?It was snowing in Guildford in Hampshire this morning.I get free honey as a friend has his own hives.Scrummy!!!

    That’s an easy conflict to resolve, Maureen–make a half-and-half burger and sausage casserole; He gets the burger, you get the sossies! No sign of snow here (yet) — just half a gale and a lot of sunshine. Mmmm! Honey!

  8. Ah, that chicken sounds savoury!

    I’m having ham with a gingery-raisin sauce (pinch of cloves) and whatever veggies the farmers bring round Saturday afternoon. The spring greens have started sprouting, and there are some really good ones on the farmers’ trucks. I’m hoping for dandelions, “mindellay” in Corean.

    Hugs from Asia,
    ~ Sil

    Oh, Scrumptious, Sil! Dandelion leaves and hard-boiled egg!

  9. It all sounds so good! We’re trekking to friends and they are cooking. I’m taking them a coffee cake.

    Happy Easter!

  10. Hmm Graham looks like Tony Blair in that photo

    Not Graham, Laura. Just some bloke in a coffee shop. I liked the composition.

  11. gone off desserts!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

