We will no longer roam

Sunday March 30, 2008

Woke to a lovely sunny morning and that’s astonishing when, yesterday, I felt that winter had made an unwelcome return after all.  I really ought to know better.

Not a peep from the agents again yesterday.  They are running out of time.

 Graham spent an age online looking at properties in the Neath, South Glamorgan area, turning up one perfectly suitable bungalow after another and all at prices we could easily afford.  When faced with such a choice I confess a temptation to set up a short list, drop our selling price to cover the asking price plus expenses, and get cracking on moving house.  Any real cash profit we could make on the deal would be limited by the power of my bargaining powers.  It’s only Monopoly money, after all.

Hey ho.  I’m bored with this obsession.  Houses, places and moving between them are things I’d rather not have on my planet.

I think that once we’ve got settled with the new agent I shall shove the whole question on the back burner and turn my eyes back to poetry.  Poetry is certainly on my planet.

They sat them down upon the yellow sand,
Between the sun and moon upon the shore;
And sweet it was to dream of Fatherland,
Of child, and wife, and slave; but evermore
Most weary seem’d the sea, weary the oar,
Weary the wandering fields of barren foam.
Then some one said, “We will return no more”;
And all at once they sang, “Our island home
Is far beyond the wave; we will no longer roam.”

from The Lotus Eaters;  Tennyson

12 responses to “We will no longer roam

  1. You said new agents. You sack the old?

    On Wednesday next, Edward. They get two weeks notice, then we’ll be with the new agent.

  2. Your current problem with your agent,made me think of the poem that goes…
    As I was going up the stair ,I met a man who wasn’t there.
    He wasn’t there again today, I wish that man would go away.
    Now I’ve told you ,maybe I can stop reciting it to myself.lol

  3. Houses here in Ohio are sitting on the market for as long as 2 years or more. Houses just are not selling here agent or not. The market is really bad.

  4. I wonder if it would be quicker to, um, drop a cigarette onto a pile of gasoline soaked rags just before going on a little drive with Graham and Dolly?

  5. Nice piece. I’ve been weary of moving for a long time, but here I am in a townhouse. Keeps me in shape, it does.

  6. Neath is about the size of our city of Cornwall on the St. Lawrence. Nice sized city to live in.

  7. Oh good grief Gary sounds like one of those poor souls facing foreclosure that did precisely that. One is on the way to prison now.

  8. I looked Neath up. Looks like a very nice place to live.

    I wouldn’t count on Graham being thru with moving tho. He does love to fix places up. Perhaps he should get a license as a builder.

  9. “I’m bored with this obsession” I know that feeling. Hugs, x

  10. For you or anyone else here… some nice stuff on Neath

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/wales/southwest/sites/neath/

    I like reading stories of children who were sent away to various and sundry parts of Britain during The War because it was too dangerous in London. Someday those “children” will all be gone, so I read their stories whenever I run across one.

  11. Bex, you have to read this childhood favourite of mine then: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goodnight_Mr_Tom

  12. Okay, on reflection, don’t read too much of the plot summary on that page, spoiler city!

Leave a Reply

