Tea and toast

Tuesday April 1, 2008

If anyone tries April Fooling me today I shall beat them about the head with a large pig’s bladder on a stick.  I’m not in the mood.

I shook hands yesterday with the guy who’s going to be our new agent and am scheduled to speak to him tomorrow.  He’ll do.

Graham is still pursuing the Post Office prospect, not just behind the counter but also on the delivery walks about the town.  He’s often spoken of the latter as his dream job, getting paid for going for a walk.  I can see that.  His mother, however, is horrified at the thought of either job, seeing dangers and hazards at every turn.  When he reported that to me yesterday evening I remarked that she was simply doing the mother’s job;  a remark that was not too well received, but what can you say?

March turned up trumps at the very end, presenting us with a lovely Spring day, and April has started out much the same.  There are rain showers forecast of course but that’s as it should be for April.  On and on for hours and hours.

Each day now I’m turning more and more frequently to my poetry books, and tending to stay longer, too.  My own muse has snuggled down again, and pulled the blanket over her shoulder against the draught, but I’m confident she’ll be properly awake soon, demanding tea and toast.

Time for you and time for me,
And time yet for a hundred indecisions,
And for a hundred visions and revisions,
Before the taking of a toast and tea.

–from Prufrock; T.S. Eliot

14 responses to “Tea and toast

  1. I was kind to my husband this morning – I didn’t let him go off to work raving about flying penguins (BBC News) 😉

  2. Aren’t they lovely, the flying penguins? They sure deserve toast and tea and not a pig’s bladder on a stick…. 🙂

  3. I’d love it if Graham got that job, but, on the other hand, I have to stick by my now possibly irritating insistance that you’ll be moving soon. The new guy will do the job, if only to sicken the other guy.

  4. If the new guy is aware of why the other was let go maybe he will hustle. I’d hate to hear you had to go with the woman you spoke of. 🙂

    We ended March with son after a drizzly day. I know we are in for drought as that is what the year has been so far when you consider rainfall that usually dumps.

  5. There is an expression here in the states ‘gone postal’, which refers to automatic weapons, disgruntled former employees and a high body count. But that’s here in the land of the free and home of the brave. I’m sure working in Britain’s PO is much safer. Much.

  6. Gary, Britain’s stricter on guns than Canada is. That’s a good thing. 😀

    John, CanadaPost, in their infinite cost-cutting wisdom started requiring central mailboxes in all new subdivisions about 20 years ago. So, the only homes that still get to-the-door mail delivery are in neighbourhoods older than that. The central stuff is delivered by a worker in a truck. 😦

  7. We’re having a whole week of drizzly rain, quite welcome and much needed.

  8. It’s spring here, too: 78 degrees yesterday afternoon and 43 this morning, with heavy rain and quarter-sized hail in between, plus a few tornadoes to the southeast. Think I might prefer your version of the season.

    Have to wait until this evening for NPR’s April Fools story. Phooey.

  9. Tea and toast would actually do quite nicely today. It is a typical Spring day here as well; windy, chilly, damp. I’d like to snuggle with your muse…. sounds nice.

  10. In “The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne” by Brian Moore, there is a scene in which Judith, a poor and lonely Belfast spinster, enters a room in which afternoon tea is being served. The description of the room, its occupants, and the food and drink, has always left me wishing that we observed the habit of taking tea in the afternoon, complete with sherry, hot buttered toast, cheese, and little cakes. Instead, we tend to wolf down a muffin with a Tim Horton’s coffee and stave off hunger until supper.

  11. What a lovely poem — fits my current mood of time passing, and sands through the hour glass.

  12. I loved the poem too, John. After a hectic day here, it’s just what I needed.

    It was 69 degrees here today. A bit wet and muggy, but it cleared up nicely and even saw a rainbow early this evening on my way home.

  13. Ooops! I forgot to put the origin of that poem snippet up — it’s from Prufrock, by TS Eliot. I’ll modify the entry now…

  14. Andrew Duffin

    “on and on for hours and hours”

    You are a fan of theirs, aren’t you John.

    Maybe you can sing it in Russian?

    No? What a pity.

Leave a Reply

