To die for

Friday April 25, 2008

Graham is off to work this weekend, returning on Sunday afternoon/evening, depending on how much mess the line-dancers make of the bars.  I shall do my best to be sensible with my food intake;  I make no such promise on my wine.  I’ll keep it to less than a bottle a day but more than that I shall not say.

Yesterday I finished off the transfer of the 2004 journals and removed them from the old site.  I’m geared up to start on January 2005 but I may leave it until Graham gets back home–it’s the month in which dear old Harry Cat finished his story and I need a steady hand to pass over that hurdle.

Strange thing.  A small owl is perched on the topmost part of a roof just a little way down the road.  I can’t make out the type but he seems perfectly happy, taking a break from the nightly hunt before cwtching up for the daylight hours.  A jolly good scheme, seems to me.

Flying at Night

Above us, stars.  Beneath us, constellations.
Five billion miles away, a galaxy dies
like a snowflake falling on water.  Below us,
some farmer, feeling the chill of that distant death,
snaps on his yard light, drawing his sheds and barn
back into the little system of his care.
All night, the cities, like shimmering novas,
tug with bright streets at lonely lights like his.

–Ted Kooser, Flying at Night

That opening phrase: 

Above us, stars

is to die for.

 

8 responses to “To die for

  1. “Above us, stars.” Yes, that is good. (You’ve quoted Ted Kooser in the past and he is well worth quoting.)

    I hope you and Dolly get through the weekend okay.

  2. Let’s not forget the rest of the line, “.. Beneath us, constellations.” Yes, that’s really good!

  3. Ah, John, I think many of us who have been with you for the long haul miss Harry.

  4. Funny how it is I miss a cat I have never actually met. Maybe it’s because my favorite kind of cats are striped tabbies. I have one now that is a little darker than Harry was. And an owl is a friendly sign if he thinks your place is a safe nest for the night. I like their sound too, sort of plaintive.

    Ava

  5. Do I hear shades of “The Owl and the Pussy Cat” here? Between dear Harry and your friendly little visitor, I find myself looking around for a runcible spoon.

  6. Love that phrasing! Thank you!

  7. Tried to respond in IE and system froze and said a script on here was malfunctioning. Not their words, but the gist. Microsoft needs to quit trying to take over companies and clean up its act!

    Hope you can get a shot of the owl.

  8. I carried that phrase with me, John – all through my day. (I didn’t get a chance to comment this morning).

    I kept picturing myself somewhere, observing earth from afar, with the stars above and the constellations below. Quite a visual, I must say. 😉

Leave a Reply

