Street and shirts

Wednesday April 30, 2008

“Shall I sit in my kitchen corner twiddling my thumbs when he comes, or shall I be working up in my study?”

“Working would be better.”

“Yup.  I think you’re right.”

I’d hardly set hands to keyboard when the phone rang.  I let Graham pick up, mostly because that strange instinct thing of mine had already informed me of the nature and source of the call.

“Well, it was nice of him to let us know.  Don’t worry about it, there’ll be more where he came from.  Yes, thanks.  Bye,” came Graham’s voice up the stair.

“I expect you know what that was,” he said, coming into the office.

I scanned his face and body language quickly, to avoid blunders.  “I seemed to know just as the phone rang.  Did the guy give a reason?”

“It seems some previous vendor has made him an offer he can’t refuse.”

“Ah, well.  What would you say to a nice cup of tea?”

“Hello, nice cup of tea.”

“Right.  On me way.”

A little while later, sitting at the kitchen table, Graham said, out of the blue, like:   “I’m glad you’ve stopped wearing t-shirts all the time.”

“Me too.  I’d quite forgot how comfortable a nice shirt feels.”

“How are you off for nice shirts these days?”

“Just about enough to scrape through the week between laundry loads.”

“Hmm.  I think we’ll pop over to Street tomorrow and buy you a couple of new ones.”

13 responses to “Street and shirts

  1. drat. Well, if he was that deeply involved in the other house negotiation, perhaps it was better to be without all the possible stringing alongs and wheelydealys. I’m still holdin on to my good feeling about it all 🙂

    Happy shirt hunting!

  2. I absolutely hated it when you would get a buyer and then he would start dilly dally-ing between two properties trying to drive a better bargain.I wouldn’t play the game and they soon dropped you.

  3. Graham has a good point about shirts. I have a closet full of shirts but day after day (unless we are going out to see a play or some event at The Towers or something of that nature) all I seem to wear are t-shirts and sweatshirts.

    Happy shirt shopping.

  4. Shall we have a picture of a poet in a new shirt when the sun comes out?

  5. we’ll just keeping hoping and praying for your sale, John
    (btw-marbled flower pots fired and pictured for you at potsblog)

  6. Well let’s see a proper lady would say “fiddle” but since I am not a proper lady I’ll say “damn”. 🙂

    Graham would have a fit if he saw my husband’s walking shirt. Ripped up the side, beyond a machine, but as long as he has all the buttons off he goes in it. 😦

  7. We didn’t make it on our shopping expedition because we have more viewers coming this afternoon/early evening. I’ll get Graham to do a snap when I secure my nice new shirts… 🙂

  8. Viewers before shirts….makes sense to me………

  9. I like the way you sound together, you and Graham.
    Good luck with the viewers. 🙂

  10. Good luck !

  11. Best of luck with the viewers!

    I’m mostly a coloured T-shirt person, thick ones for winter and thin ones for summer.

    I will confess to sleeping in one of Louie’s old “dress ’em up” shirts, as he jokingly called them. It’s well-worn and comfy. [Mainers say of loutish folks, “You can dress ’em up, but you can’t take ’em out.”]

    Hugs from Asia,
    ~ Sil

  12. Graham says he doesn’t think today’s viewers liked the place.

    I say it is 50/50.

    Doesn’t matter which of us is right so far as I’m concerned. It’s good to see movement after all those weeks of silence with the old agent.

  13. I love that ‘can’t take ’em out’ line, Sil! Graham says that about me, more often than you will ever know… 😉

Leave a Reply

