Above us the pigeons

An interim entry to record the outcome of our house viewing yesterday–they loved the house, but are not in a position to proceed.  Not to worry.  Bring on the next ones.

I had visions today of getting not just sunshine but also a bit of woodland walking.  It was one of those days.

Well, I didn’t get the woodland.  Had to settle for Taunton so’s Graham could make an appointment for an eye examination and buy Aramis.  I claimed food as my reward, quaffing a meatball marinara subway and a large coffee with indecent relish, and tucking into a small feta and pasta salad with rich tomato sauce and two small custard tarts when we got home.

While Graham was plodding around looking for the cheapest Aramis deal–at 50 quid a bottle a degree of plodding is justified–I was lodged happily in a sheltered seating area between the farmer’s market stalls and the rapidly decaying shop front that used to be Laura Ashley.  The sky clouded over for a little while, and there was a dampness in the air which drove off the smelly scrotes who were tucking into a KFC bucket for their lunch.  I was happier when they’d gone.

I gazed up into the sky and watched the pigeons playing tag between the buildings and the tree tops.  They are dirty and smelly, too, and noisy with it.  It’s an entirely different dirty, smelly and noisy, though and, unlike the scrotes, I’d be sorry to see the pigeons go.

I didn’t count but I did notice a number of closed shops in Taunton.  Of a sudden there are visible signs of an economic downturn to go with the signals coming out of the finance and housing markets.  It’ll all end in tears, I’m afraid.

 


Above us the pigeons

8 responses to “Above us the pigeons

  1. Pigeons were the focus for one of my students and I, on a walk near the park that has a large fountain, the other day. One was white and she wanted to clarify if it was a pigeon or a “dove of peace.” Technically, they are all “rock doves,” according to my memory of what my college biology professor said. They’ve just adapted very well to the human-built “cliffs” of urban dwellings. They are rather jolly creatures, I think, though some have called them “flying rats.” Korean pigeons aren’t as shy as American ones. There are people here who buy popcorn or puffed rice and hand feed them.

    Hugs from Asia,
    ~ Sil

  2. Oh shucky-darn on the aborted house sale. [sigh] But the pigeon reverie was nice. I can hear the cooing from here.

    Sil, around here, it’s the sea gulls that scavenge off the touristos. We call ’em “feathered rats” — close to your pigeon persona.

  3. We can always hope they *get* in a position to proceed and quickly. Ah, those dominoes.

  4. Your talk of pigeons brought back happy memories for me, John, of sitting in the litlte dormer area at the top of the house and listening to the gentle conversations of the pigeons just oustide the wondow there. Lovely soft sounds, so lulling and relaxing.
    And I admire Graham’s good taste in Aramis. It’s always been my fave, I do believe.

  5. The building shows evidence of damp for sure. I just cleaned some off our carport but it had to be what Wil didn’t get to last year because we’ve not had cold and damp. 🙂

  6. [[– struggling to overcome irresistable urge to make silly puns about a musketeer, a Canadian horse from the 1984 Olympics, and a fragrence–]]

    My that sounds like a hearty lunch!

  7. Andrew Duffin

    “a large coffee with indecent relish”

    I was wondering what indecent relish tasted like, and why anyone would want relish with coffee, until I read the sentence again.

    Another vision destroyed.

    Ah well.

    You read as fast as I drink subway coffee, Andrew… 😉

  8. What happened to Laura Ashley stores. Then too, after watching you eat your lunch, I would wonder why those folks above you didn’t kill the algae on the window sill.

    The (Taunton) Laura Ashley store closed, Mage, along with almost all of the LA empire. Time moves on, I’m afraid, and you don’t see sprigged cotton too often these days.

    And the algae-d window sill is part of the now deserted shop front and building. Shame, because it’s a very old building; we do however have an awful lot of very old buildings and there isn’t the cash about to keep them all in good order.

Leave a Reply

