Rather like wrinkles

Tuesday June 3, 2008

When I got to it I really didn’t want to go to the hospital today.  No matter how small the job, surgery is surgery, and it’d be rather odd to claim you were looking forward to it, or enjoyed it.

However, the procedure took less than ten minutes from going into the op. room, sitting on the trolley to sign the consent form, feeling the ‘ting’ of the local anaesthetic and the five punches of the sample tissue extractor device.  No pain or distress, though I did need a steadying hand from the theatre nurse when I sat up afterwards, just for a minute while I got my bearings.

I’ll be called back for a consultation when the biopsy is done, in about three weeks.

So I enjoyed my post-procedure cup of hot tea–black, no sugar–was signed off by the ward sister, and ushered out.  Almost all of the three hours was spent sitting in waiting rooms and in the day ward, waiting to be picked up and put down again as the day surgery conveyor belt dictated.

Nothing to fear, then.  Except that anything to do with breasts carries a burden of ignorance and fear with it, for men as for women.  It’s worse for women in my view–breasts are an important part of femininity and female identity.  For men, well, they’re an amusement at best and an embarassment at worst.  Unless there’s a darn good surgical/medical reason to go a’cutting, I shall leave the darn thing alone as a mark of life.  Rather like wrinkles, in a way.

20 responses to “Rather like wrinkles

  1. At least you’re having it checked out, John. Always a good move. Ya never know what might be/or not lurking around.

  2. Crossed fingers, John, and all good thoughts for a benign ending to this part of your life. May it be over and done and forgotten in the shortest possible time!

  3. At best you got a free cup of tea. 🙂

  4. Hope all turns out well.

  5. Good luck, John. Wrinkles are good.

  6. Wrinkles are good? Yes, indeed. I just finished watching an episode of Battledstar Galactica and they take great care to play light and shadow on the craggy face of Edward James Olmos as if his wrinkled visage were a work of art. (Actually, it is — he has a fascinatingly photogenic face — always has, but it keeps getting better as he gets older.)

  7. Glad you are getting it checked out dear John.

  8. I love the comment from yesterday: ” His first bi-focals. They’ll be ready for collection in about two weeks and I’m wondering if there’s a Hallmark occasion card to celebrate.”

    May your karma be worthwhile.

  9. I totally agree with you on Edward James Olmos Jim!

    John, heartfelt empathetic vibes on the proddy-jabby, again, it’s really not nice having to drag oneself through these things. I’m glad it passed quickly and without incident, hope your not to wrecked today because of it 🙂 hugs x

  10. John, I’m sending you all good thoughts and vibes which I can muster… 🙂

  11. I’m feeling like I’m a bit of a charlatan here. The site of the proddy-jabby biopsy procedure doesn’t hurt; indeed, if I didn’t think about it, I wouldn’t know it was there. Graham’s treating me like I need wrapping in cotton wool. Mind you, we’re just off out for provisions (“you can’t go on your own,” he says) and to visit the DIY store so he can pick up a large planter pot. I’m tempted to go all droopy and insist that nothing but a sausage-inna-bun will put me right… 😉

  12. Go for it John, got to make the most of it 😉 Glad it’s not sore.

  13. Play it for all it’s worth, John! You seldom get such a good chance.

    (((((Hugs)))))
    ~ Sil

  14. Shirley, in PA

    May I add my good wishes for a benign finish to this stage in your life. Negative report on the biopsy and a positive sale of your house. And do indulge yourself with any goodies that come to mind.

  15. quick maybe, but ::bleh::
    hey, good luck and best wishes!

  16. when you sink your teeth into that sausage-inna-bun, which I know without doubt that you will now that you’ve said it, enjoy a mouthful for me!! 😉

  17. The waiting is the worst part — or was for me, anyway. It comes down to that burden of ignorance and fear you mentioned. We hear over and over again about self-inspection and mammograms — all the stuff you want folks doing, seeing as prevention is better than cure — but then we never hear that something like 95% of breast lumps are benign. Most definitely a simple mark of life.

  18. Now we know why he wouldn’t let you go alone. How long will it be for the results. We are all waiting with bated breath.

    Three weeks, Mage.

    Neither my G.P. nor the consultant are expecting anything abnormal and Graham and I feel that all is OK except for one overgrown boob, most likely caused by five or six years of statins and diuretics. We’re not worried about the boob, but we are concerned that there may be other, better hidden, side effects of the medication. If I get written confirmation that the most likely cause is the diuretic and/or statin I shall go after them like a little sharp-toothed terrier until I get confirmation that all is well with kidneys and such. Again, I’m pretty sure it is, but now I want to be certain.

    I’ll be sure to post the whole story here as it unfolds. Let’s face it, I don’t have much else to report at present!

  19. Hope you are feeling ok.Not a nice thing to endure.Still I expect you are getting very spoiled by the other half!

  20. My very best wishes for good results on your tests, John. Personally, I think boobs are way overrated…I’d gladly do away with mine if it weren’t so expensive! They are just in the way most of the time!

Leave a Reply

