It’s just socks

Wednesday June 18, 2008

It’s not fair.  Graham had his cough/cold, and now he’s out of it.  Me?  Guess.  You got it.  I have been visited with the most appalling gungy cough.  Last night was dreadful.  Today has been dreadful.  I think I can detect the first signs of turning the corner but I’m not counting chickens.  Oh.  Mmmm!  Chicken soup!

“What on earth has happened to your feet?”  Graham asked as we got out of the car this evening.

“I can’t get down to put my socks on without coughing,” I said.

“Sometimes I despair of you.”

“No need for despair.  It’s just socks.” 

17 responses to “It’s just socks

  1. Propolis is good for you, too, John. Hope the dad-ratted cough clears soon.

    Hugs from Asia,
    ~ Sil

  2. Hugs from Austria too! And get well soon! Just do what Graham says and all will be well! 🙂

  3. whiskey and honey I hear is good for that. 🙂
    get well.

  4. Whiskey with honey works even better warmed up just a bit.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  5. Oooh, yes! Whiskey and hunny! After a few sips the cough goes and YOU glow!

  6. I hope this means Graham is home now to help with sock installation and soup delivery. Here’s to a full recovery for both of you and an end to the summer sickness.

  7. Socks and ties went away with retirement. Who invented the wretched things.

  8. Hope that cough goes away soon.

  9. John, what is that photo? A machine that puts your socks on for you, or a maker of chicken soup? You British, you have all the newfangled contraptions that we out here in the colonies have never seen before.

  10. Andrew Duffin

    Ha! My speed-reading again! Seeing the picture I thought your headline said “It just sucks”.

    I suppose that was the intention.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  11. It’s a gully sucker! I haven’t seen one of those for years!It clears the drains out.Sorry to hear that you have the dreaded cough : ( Although I guessed when there wasn’t a blog posted.Chin up and I hope it goes soon.

  12. yeah, whisky for a cold, that could help…

  13. I know my 91-year-old father is down and out when he can’t get the socks on. Clipping the toenails? Can no longer do it so he takes himself to a nail salon! Sign of old age or bad cough when you can’t get at your feet!

  14. I didn’t know it was called a gully sucker, although, I knew the guy was cleaning out the sewer.

    Feel better, John. Have a shot or two! 😉

  15. Hi John, I hope you feel better soon. Sometimes a spoonful of honey every morning works…

  16. Heh! I just wish they had a gully-sucker for coughs. Save an awful lot of effort, would that.

  17. I’m so sorry John. You two have to find a way of breaking this cycle of Graham sick then you sick. I’d invent a gully-sucker if it would help.

Leave a Reply

