Yesterday

Thursday July 3, 2008

When I worked on my cash portfolio project a little while back I lodged a fair proportion of them into National Savings Premium Bonds.  This is a Treasury-backed savings scheme where you invest your cash and, rather than being paid out piecemeal, the interest is used to fund a monthly prize draw, with cash prizes paid to bond holders tax free;  rather like a lottery except you get to keep your wager.  It’s fun and, over a period of time, yields about the same as a low-interest secure bond, but with a chance to ‘win a million’.

So, yesterday, the first of my five batches of bonds went into its first draw, and with a little spark of powdered, randomized pixels, out popped a win of £100!

“Oh, wow!”  I said.  “Do you think it’s an omen?”

“Could be.  What will you do with it?”

“Oh, when I’ve sniffed it I’ll stick it straight back in the pot on the principle that lucky money is lucky money.”

“Sounds good to me.  What will you win next month?”

“I’m not greedy.  Any old million will do me nicely.  Doesn’t pay to be fussy about the odd million in these strange days.”

“You never said a truer word.”

“Yes I did.”

“When?”

“Yesterday.”

6 responses to “Yesterday

  1. Congratulations! You’re lucky; the money is just a symbol of that fact.

    Hugs from over here,
    ~ Sil in Corea

  2. Ahh a good omen!

  3. Good old Ernie, he came up trumps for you. May he continue doing so 🙂

  4. According to Wendy’s second law of finance, all interest or similar earnings on that 100 is formally and officially “play money” to be used on treats or prizes of your choice.

  5. They say – daydreaming about winning the lottery (or any large sum of money) is actually good for your overall wellbeing and helps lower your blood pressure too.

    Well, my B/P should be extremely low! 🙂

Leave a Reply

